Related articles


Migration eligibility

The most common way for people to migrate to Australia is through skilled migration and Western Australia operates a program where the state can assist eligible skilled people to migrate as permanent residents. 

‘State Nomination’
Under the skilled migration category of ‘state nomination’, the Government of Western Australia's Migration Services branch nominates eligible applicants for two visa subclasses:

— Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190); and       
— Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)

Both visas allow eligible applicants to live and work in Australia on the basis that they hold skills sought after by Western Australian employers. 

To be eligible for State nomination, you must meet the State nomination criteria which includes having an occupation on the Western Australian skilled migration occupation list​. 

[unex_ce_button id="content_wrh2gbw0j,column_content_gvn0geb3d" button_text_color="#ec6722" button_font="bold" button_font_size="22px" button_width="auto" button_alignment="left" button_text_spacing="1px" button_bg_color="#ffffff" button_padding="10px 20px 10px 20px" button_border_width="1px" button_border_color="#ec6722" button_border_radius="0px" button_text_hover_color="#ffffff" button_text_spacing_hover="1px" button_bg_hover_color="#ec6722" button_border_hover_color="#ec6722" button_link="" button_link_type="url" button_link_target="_blank" has_container="" in_column="1"]Click here to learn more[/ce_button]